Copyright and ownership of the spreadshop?

Hi,

I am new to this and I have questions. I wanted to use an image which is Royalty Free licensed on my Spreadshop.

The first question is: Who is owner of my spreadshop, what is the real construction I am dealing with as a “spreadshop - shop owner”. I own my spreadshop which is owned by the company Spreadshop powered by Spreadshirt?

Because I was told this after asking a seller to use a Royalty Free license image for my spreadshop:

"This might be an issue as it’s very important that the image is used by the license holder only.

If the image is used by another shop then they will not be legally covered. For example if Shop A is named on the license but the image is handed to Shop B and they print and use the image, Shop B may be liable as for not having a license themselves.

So I’d say if you’re not confident that the image will be used by the original license holder then I’d recommend not going ahead with the license."

But Spreadshop told me:
— “Public domain and royalty free images are allwed for publication in personal shops, but are restricted from sale on the Marketplace to avoid duplicate upload and ownership conflicts.” —

Which one is true? And who owns what as a Spreadshop Owner? I keep reading “you are owner of your own spreadshop”. But isnt Spreadshop really the owner, powered by Spreadshirt? It’s too confusing. And apparently this is very relevant for copyright issues for designs. Thank you <3

This holds true.

For any further legal questions please refer to legal@spreadshirt.net.

In the imprint of your shop you can also see that you are responsible for the content of the shop, we are responsible for the technical implementation.

That’s great and all but I have been e-mailing and corresponding with the seller of the image license and spreadshirt for a whole week now and both are telling me something else.